Employment and Support Allowance: Re-tests axed for chronically ill claimants

Both ‘Official’ and Social Media are buzzing this morning with the above news – at last those of us who are chronically ill will no longer have to perpetually be tested for our ESA. This is very welcome news but…until I know exactly what ‘Chronically Ill’ constitutes, what illnesses and diseases (as reported on the 8.00 am news) make up the list, I will refrain from using 3 hours energy getting excited.

Before anyone accuses me of being negative, I encourage you to think back to the claims we heard under IDS – remember  more claimants are receiving maximum, unconditional disability benefit payments, and  The Government recognise that some people will not be able to work, or prepare for work, because of a disability. Those people will receive unconditional support; just two of many.

So the sooner the we know precisely what “the criteria” is and who the “health professionals” responsible for deciding the content the better. I for one will await the speech of Damien Green on Tuesday pm, with caution

I might be pleasantly surprised??