Is Iain Duncan Smith a Miracle Worker?

So half a million of us disabled people who are already fortunate to be awarded Disability Living Allowance (DLA) are going to lose it over the coming 3 years year. A very few ill and disabled individuals,  will then be lucky enough to receive the new Personal Independence Payment (PIP) benefit instead.

But have heart my fellow disabled, in an interview in the Telegraph today,  the minister for the Department of Work and Pensions Iain Duncan Smith (IDS), has apparently decided that we will all get better and return to work once the new system is explained personally to us!

I for one would welcome the opportunity to meet with IDS and have him personally explain to me how understanding PIP will cure my Fibro and my Sjorgens; realign the displaced vertebrae in my spine; heal my cervical spondylitus, my Carpel tunnel and nerve entrapment, and replace the nerve connections to my bladder. If IDS can do this, I promise I will get on my knees and worship him as the new messiah.

However, if he fails and call me cynical but I believe that more likely, I promise to make sure he understands what if feels like to be disabled before I leave the room.

There is a poll in the Telegraph accompanying this interview that at the time of writing over 6,000 people have voted in; and sadly 65% think he is right and DLA is abused. If there is ever a time to vote go to http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/9263453/500000-to-lose-disability-benefit.html and do it

2 thoughts on “Is Iain Duncan Smith a Miracle Worker?

Leave a Reply

